Go and live your life

image

 

I was walking in our neighborhood the other day and came across this. A car completely covered in post-it notes. Obviously it is a teen ager’s car and it was ceremoniously decorated to congratulate the teen for graduating from high school. I got a good chuckle out of it and thought it was a brilliant (and non destructive) way to celebrate the achievement. I wished to myself that post-it notes were invented when I was in high school and how much fun I would have had spreading this type of joy to my classmates!

Then I began to think about a conversation I had with a friend of mine who had no idea what it was like to have T1D’s. I came across a perfect description of what it is like to have diabetes and it reminds me of this car. I do not know where this came from, but it isn’t my quote, just something I borrowed:

“When most people think about diabetes, they think of controlling sugar intake, but it’s really carbs, protein, and food in general–and stress and sleep and exercise and medications and the weather and excitement and anxiety and sex and alcohol and hormones and infusion sites and finger pricks and numbers that do not make any sense and highs and lows and muscle cramps and nausea and being hooked up to a machine all the time and remembering to take all the past and future factors into consideration and timing everything perfectly.”

I am not excluded from living life, but there are times I feel like this car. I can drive my life but there are a ton of post it notes reminding me of the balance I have to achieve every single day of my life to remain healthy. Oh my life is great, I don’t have much to complain about but I do have to read every single message my body is giving me each day. And it is new information each day. This is what T1 Diabetes is for all of us every. single. day.

 

 

Leave a Reply

